What Are The Penalties For DUI In Tennessee?

Even if you have never been charged with DUI before, you are facing mandatory jail time, fines and loss of your license. The penalties quickly become stiffer if you have been convicted of DUI in the past, if you refuse a blood alcohol content test or if you are charged with injuring another person.

Here are the minimum penalties for DUI in Tennessee if it is your first, second or third offense:

  • First offense: At least 48 hours in jail, $350-$1,500 in fines and loss of license for one year.
  • Second offense: At least 45 days in jail, $600-$3,500 in fines and loss of license for two years.
  • Third offense: At least 120 days in jail, $1,110-$10,000 in fines and loss of license for six years.

You may also be required to participate in an alcohol treatment program and install an ignition interlock device (and pay for it, too). For a second or third offense, could lose your vehicle as well.

When DUI Becomes A Felony

In Tennessee, you can be charged with felony DUI if you have at least three prior convictions. At this level, a DUI is punishable by at least one hundred and fifty (150) days in jail, one (1) to six (6) years of possible jail time, $3,000-$15,000 in fines, and loss of your license for eight (8) years.

If you significantly injured another person while driving under the influence, you may be charged with vehicular assault or child endangerment (if the person injured is under 18). If these types of cases, you are facing multiple years in jail and loss of license with no options for a restricted license.

We Will Fight For Reduced Penalties

At Ritter & Edwards, we understand what is at stake when facing DUI charges, and we are passionate about finding strong defenses for our clients. Our experienced attorneys will fight for reduced or dismissed charges for our clients wherever possible.

Call us at 865-482-7734 or contact us online to schedule an appointment with a lawyer. Our firm is located in Oak Ridge.